RSS – Real Simple Syndication – notifying you of new things

10 responses to “RSS – Real Simple Syndication – notifying you of new things

  1. Cool Video – Like it Old School now !!!

    So what readers to people use – I just use Safari and my own additional tags !!!

    Stefano πŸ™‚

  2. Vienna – a Mac application that I have used for the past three years or so…

  3. What are the benefits over safari – Is it searching and tagging e.t.c or do you just prefer the interface ??

    Stefano πŸ™‚

  4. It may just be that I am familiar with it – but yes I do like the interface and functionality, e.g. it adds feeds autmatically when I click on an RSS icon, I like the ability to browse offline and the responsiveness of a desktop application vs a web interface.

  5. Sounds cool am searching for it on google now !! thanks Stefano πŸ™‚

  6. Hmm…posted a reply last night but hasn’t appeared.

    I use NewsFire
    http://www.newsfirerss.com/

    There’s also Google Reader
    http://www.google.com/reader

    And NetNewsWire
    http://www.newsgator.com/INDIVIDUALS/NETNEWSWIRE/

  7. Oh and I’m the same as Stephen – I prefer the interface, offline browsing and responsiveness of the desktop app. I switched to Google Reader for a bit because – it being web based – I could use it on the iPod Touch too…but I’m just too used to NewsFire so went back. Fortunately it seems that an iPhone App for that is coming soon too.

  8. The video makes it look really simple. I am going to try and follow the steps. I am not sure what it is all about really as I don’t have favourite blogs or news sites. Mostly I don’t understand any of the replies so far ie
    interface, offline browsing and responsiveness of the desktop app.
    iPod Touch
    NewsFire
    iPhone App
    NetNewsWire
    safari
    Vienna
    What are these things?
    Any advice as to how I could start off from scratch?
    Thanks,

    louise

  9. Hi Mark Nice one will check out although I am happy using Safari as am mostly online.

    Louise
    Interface – is the way it looks
    Offline Browsing – Viewing Web Content when not connected to Internet – i.e saving a copy to your computer
    iPodTouch – MP3 Device from Apple with touch screen Interface
    NewsFire – RSS Reader
    iPhoneApp – Application on iPhone from Apple
    Safari – Web Browser from Apple
    Vienna – Rss Reader for Mac

    Hope this helps
    Stefano πŸ™‚

  10. Hi Louise, “I don’t have favourite blogs or news sites.” – this blog, the Moodle website we are using may not be where you turn too for your fun and entertainment but they do at this moment in your life at least have a measure of importance/value for you:^)

    RSS should make it easier for you to keep track of what is going on with less effort. However, as you point out there are some technical and linguistic barriers to firts overcome. Have a go and get back to the community if you become stuck.

Leave a Reply

